PDA

View Full Version : How Do I Connect My Ps2 To My Tv Tuner?



dar0ckl3ttm
November 20th, 2003, 00:11
cool i didnt know you can hook those two up. so how do i do it? do i need to buy additional wires? im trying to record my game progress for all the world to see my l33t skeelz. B)

Lefteris_D
November 20th, 2003, 00:14
I connect my playstation to my VCR and then the VCR to my TV card. Finding the proper cables for that connection is quite easy.

M.H.A.Q.S.
November 20th, 2003, 07:32
If your TV Tuner supports it. Just plug the A/V cables directly to your TV Tuner and adjust the channel on your Computer.

ScotchGuy
November 20th, 2003, 08:48
I do what Lefteris does, as long as you have a VCR it's quite easy.

M.H.A.Q.S.
November 20th, 2003, 09:39
It is easy, but at times the using a VCR in between is a wastage. I mean what if the person doesn't have one.

El Fugitivo
November 20th, 2003, 20:31
VCR's are extremely cheap these days, and they can probably be had for only $20 more than some the cable to a/v connector. Plus than he has the added functionality of watching VHS tapes.

ScotchGuy
November 20th, 2003, 21:13
That's why I bought a VCR, I got a nice one for $40. I'd say it's worth it.

El Fugitivo
November 20th, 2003, 21:21
Yeah, that's about how much mine cost me, and it's plenty good enough. Too bad I don't have a TV tuner or a TV in my room (yet).

dar0ckl3ttm
November 21st, 2003, 11:02
Originally posted by Lefteris_D@Nov 20 2003, 12:14 AM
I connect my playstation to my VCR and then the VCR to my TV card. Finding the proper cables for that connection is quite easy.
lefteris_d, so how would i connect them together? which wires do you need?

M.H.A.Q.S.
November 21st, 2003, 11:08
Simple AV cables or RF cables.

Lefteris_D
November 21st, 2003, 12:12
I connect the playstation scart plug into the vcr and then I split the antenna output of the vcr into two. One going to the TV and another to the PC.

M.H.A.Q.S.
November 21st, 2003, 16:40
Once you get familiar with the cables and their connectors, you'll get it.

dar0ckl3ttm
November 21st, 2003, 17:57
so i would have to purchase a splitter to do that? does it look like this?

http://www.radioshack.com/product.asp?cata...%5Fid=15%2D2582 (http://www.radioshack.com/product.asp?catalog%5Fname=CTLG&category%5Fname=CTLG%5F007%5F002%5F001%5F006&product%5Fid=15%2D2582)

Danny
November 21st, 2003, 18:26
If you want your VCR to go to your TV and PC at the same time. I would just
use a normal lead. That splitter is wrong anyway.

dar0ckl3ttm
November 21st, 2003, 19:31
a normal lead? what does it look like?

Danny
November 21st, 2003, 19:35
An RF lead, the standard one that goes in your TV.

Zach
November 21st, 2003, 19:37
Wtf ? That is the correct splitter, I think you need to look again

Any decent TV-tuner card would (and I can't recall seeing one that didn't) have a coaxial cable hookup on it. Thats the thick cable that plugs into your TV for those unsure.

Run a short coaxial from your VCR's TV-OUT plug, attach that splitter, then attach two coaxial cables to the respective ends of the splitter.

Run one to the TV, the other to the TV card. Simple as that.

Jet Set Willy
November 21st, 2003, 19:41
That splitter looks wrong to me also. It has screw threads on it. I'm thinking

A) It's a permanent splitter which you have to hard wire
B) Americans have screw connectors on their co-ax for their tellies

Either could be wrong, but it would explain why the brits think that it's the wronger splitter.

Zach
November 21st, 2003, 19:45
Yes, we used threads in america to keep things fastened. That way when we trip on the cord the whole thing falls and breaks :)

THere are pull on-off cables over here as well, they work with threaded connections. I own some actually.


Either way, thats the correct splitter. You just use coaxial like normal and hook it up to the PC, I have drawn a picture to clear all confusion.


http://www.oldskoolgames.com/pics/tv-tuner.gif

El Fugitivo
November 21st, 2003, 19:47
Well that certainly cleared MY confusion.

dar0ckl3ttm
November 21st, 2003, 20:04
wow that clears things up a lot. i have one more thing i have to get your opinions about. i was told that i also need the playstation2's AV ADAPTER in order to record my playing. do i really need this or will my usual s-video adapter do?

Jet Set Willy
November 21st, 2003, 20:05
Bear in mind that splitting a signal decreases the strength of the signal, so don't do it too much and split it as close to the devices as possible.

I wonder why screw coax isn't popular in consumer devices over here.

Zach
November 21st, 2003, 20:06
If you plug the PS2's RCA plugs into your VCR you will be fine.

Danny
November 21st, 2003, 20:13
Originally posted by Waz@Nov 21 2003, 07:05 PM
I wonder why screw coax isn't popular in consumer devices over here.
Proberly because we're cheap bastards.

dar0ckl3ttm
November 21st, 2003, 20:19
okay the guy gave gave me links that show how to do this. i was reading it and interestingly enough, their method was kind of different. so i'm assuming there's a lot of different ways in connecting them, right?

http://mikesreviews.tripod.com/mtvmg2/rectocomp.html

http://mikesreviews.tripod.com/mtvmg2/rectocomp_vid.html

but since i dont have this AV adapter, ill use the VCR way.

Jet Set Willy
November 21st, 2003, 20:33
Just tinker man. That's how you're supposed to learn this stuff. If you get desperate you can split a signal by mutilating two cables and twisting them together. Strip the wire with your teeth. That's the Waz way.