building a new emulator box.

GOG427

i want robot legs.
ok my emulator computer is showing its age, so its time to step it up.
i have 4 question before i start ordering parts .

1.cpu whitch seems to be most important thing.
would i get any benfits from using multi-core like amd x2 chip?
this well be used for mame,nes,snes,psone,ps2 and 3d0

2.what would be best sound card to use?
i heard some where that new creative fx help with glitch in mk2 and 3 on mame32.

3.video card does it really matter?
i'm using my same setup and 90 inch projector for screen, its fun as hell.

4.how much ram is needed?1or 2 gigs.

this will be my lan computer as well so of course ill get really nice video card. i was just wondering.

anyway i did search before posting, didnt find anything under building a new emulator computer.

so any help would be great. thank you

alcoatjez

Capo di Tutti Capi
I'm not really an expert on this, but CPU is definately important. AFAIK there are no emulators which make use of multi-core processors, but they do run fasters because other cores can do background tasks for example. I don't think 1 or 2GB of RAM will make much difference. For a videocard I really don't know.

GOG427

i want robot legs.
thx for reply. just so you know the dolphin gamecube emulator can use dual-core. not sure how much it helps but food for thought.

TheCreator

If you want a ncie card, the really good ones are the ATI X1900XT, or X1800XT. The Nvidia 6800GS, or 6600GT makes for a good mid-high-end card. OMFG cards are like the Geforce 7900GTX or ATI X1900XTX. I have no idea about US prices seeing as I'm British...

Zach