About programming...

Magician Type 0

Mechanical humanoid
Hey guys. I'm not new to the world of emulators. I've had about 4 or 5 years using them. I've decided recently to set a large goal, possibly one that some people would think is too large, but I digress. I'm looking to learn how to program because I want to take a crack at making a Sega model 3 emulator. I've seen very few people even try (or at least try publicly) and since arcade games are my very favorite, I want to try myself. After doing a little research, I've found that most people say basic C++ language is enough to know how to make an emulator, so getting to the point, can someone maybe help point me in the right direction? And if there is another language or different language that would help further, tell me. I'm new to the concept of programming, so if I sound like a n00b, it's because I am one. Thanx.

Zach

Just some advice..

In addition to knowing a language, you are going to need to understand the architecture you are trying to emulate.. You have to learn about all the major CPUs involved, registers, opcodes, memory addresses, all that boring Computer Science shit people learn in college.

And you'll have to do it all via reverse engineering to keep the project legal.

That being said.. I don't think anyone here really knows much about programming or that kind of stuff. This is primarily an information community and we don't have any real technically inclined people around, beyond the general PC type problems.

Take a look at some books, C++ for dummies or something like that. There are also people writing emulators in Delphi, but I don't know about really advanced systems.

FatTrucker

Abusus non tollit usum
Then of course you need to be able to actually crack and understand the encryption on the hardware you are going to emulate.

This seems to be the biggest obstacle for emulator authors who want to take on newer systems because the encryption on modern systems is so advanced.