Seeking Help from a newb

whiteSE

Hey guys, new guy here. I'm new at this whole emulator thing so please bear with me. As far as playing old nes, snes, etc games on my laptop how do you set up the emulator and the roms? Are there any pc requirements or sepcifications to look at? I ask this because I just bought a new latop that has a 64 bit os(vista) and wondering if it compatible with the os since its pretty new. Is there a step by step guide on where to put the files(roms, saves,emu) or a tutorial guide out there? Another question, I have been playing Lego batman on my laptop and have been using the xbox 360 controller. Can I use the 360 controller with the roms and/or is there settings that I can set them to? Much help is appreciated. Thanks in advance.

FatTrucker

Abusus non tollit usum
There are literally dozens of emulators spread over just about every gaming system that's ever been released so your question is a bit broad.

You'll find most emulators other than Mame are currently set up to run on 32 Bit Windows (mame has a seperate 64 bit version) so might need to run them in a 32 bit mode if thats available on a 64 bit OS or look around to see if anyone has produced 64 bit builds for any of them.

This site hosts or links just about all the most popular emulators for the most popular systems. In most cases when you are starting out the best thing is to download a few for each system you want to emulate and see which one you like best. Then if you have problems you can ask specific questions for support on that emulator.

Most emulators use similar tools in terms of setup. In most cases you will want to create a folder called 'roms' in the folder you extract the emulator program files to and put any game roms into that folder.
When you start the emulator you can use the toolbars in the emulator window to set up the paths to your rom folder and any bios or plugin folders if it uses them.