Recommended MAME Frontend

rancineb

Hi everyone!

So I'm new to MAME and don't have a lot of knowledge about it. I'm looking to build my own cabinet using a PC running Windows XP. From what I've read, there are two components needed. The main MAME software and then a frontend to act as the GUI interface to select games to play. I've looked around and there are tons of different frontends out there and I have no idea where to start.

I'm not sure what type of options there are or what to look for so really just looking for your recommendations and advice. What I'd like to be able to do is boot MAME when I turn on the PC. The faster to load MAME the better as always.

Anything you can provide me would be great. Thanks!

~Brian

FatTrucker

Abusus non tollit usum
For ease of use in terms of setting up there are a couple of shareware one's to choose from. GameEx and Maximus Arcade. Both are menu driven and simple to use, but you do have to pay for the full versions.

If you're looking for free one's then your options mainly are Mamewah (the one I use) and Mala. Mala is menu driven and easier to set up than mamewah, but once you get the hang of how mamewah works its fantastic and so easy and flexible to modify.

If you happen to be using a really decent PC in the cab also consider Hyperspin. Its hands down the best looking front end available but very system hungry and if you're packing anything less than a Dual Core its not worht bothering with.

The quickest and easiest route to booting straight to your front-end is to put a shortcut to the Front-ends exe into the windows startup folder so it boots as soon as windows loads. If you set your desktop colour to black and remove all the icons you wouldn't really know any better.

The other method is to replace the windows shell with your front-end. This is quite a bit more technical, involves manipulating the system regiatry and will require your OS to be re-installed if you get it wrong.