Nintendulator question

Saucerful

Avid Fan
Is there a way, in Nintendulator, to have the display maintain a 4:3 aspect ratio in windowed mode? It seems to be hard coded to maintain the native ratio.

Mupen64 Man

Big fan of Mupen64
Staff member
Im not experienced with that emulator, but it seems like its emulation goal is to emulate the hardware, so its only reasonable you can't change a setting like that.

Saucerful

Avid Fan
Im not experienced with that emulator, but it seems like its emulation goal is to emulate the hardware, so its only reasonable you can't change a setting like that.

Is that not accurate though? If you took an actual NES and hooked it up to an NTSC TV, would it not be 4:3? Or did it maintain 8:7? My original hardware is long gone and can't double check that.

Saucerful

Avid Fan
Why not use another emulator?

That's sort of what I'm currently in the process of doing. I used to use Nestopia until I started running into some minor sound glitches with recent hardware. Forget for a moment that I'm trying to adjust the aspect ratio, but I can't find anywhere in Nintendulator that will even let you change the resolution. That seems like it would be a pretty glaring oversight. All you have are the few multipliers in windowed mode, and nothing for fullscreen. It's hard coded at 640x480!