mamewah help

jvernick

hello, i'm pretty new at this so please bear with me. i've been using mame32 for some time now and i thought it was a good time to try out mamewah. so far so good except for 2 problems. one, i cannot find where to put the layout files and,2, when i select a game to play from my mame list it takes me to another screen where it asks what game i want to play. shouldnt it take me to the game from the mamewah screeen? being a mame32 lifer, this is a new screen to me. please help

FatTrucker

Abusus non tollit usum
You put the layout files in the mamewah/config/emuname folder you want to use it with. mamewah works on theme's now so create a new folder in each mamewah/config/emuname folder and give these folders a common name.

so:

mamewah/config/mame/mytheme
mamewah/config/snes/mytheme

and so on.

Now take your mame layout file (make sure its called layout.lay) and your mame background image (make sure its called main.jpg) and put it into the mame/mytheme folder.

Now do the same with your snes skin, naming the layout, layout.lay and the background, main.jpg and put them into the snes/mytheme folder etc etc.

Finally open the mamewah.ini file and next to the theme field type: Mytheme

Mamewah will now look for a folder called mytheme in each emu config folder and use the skin it finds there when you open that emulators gamelist.

The reason its going to a second list when you launch a game is because you are launching mame32 not commandline mame.

Download and set up commandline mame and use mamewah to launch that instead and it will go straight to the game.

Last edited:

jvernick

thanks for the help but none of those suggestions helped. i downloaded and and ran commandline mame and still got mame's game selection menu. i still cant get mamewah to display my layout

FatTrucker

Abusus non tollit usum
Post your mamewah and mamewah/config/mame/mame.ini files here.