PDA

View Full Version : Emu Roms



Roodee
November 27th, 2005, 10:19
Ok guys i got a Street Fighter 3 in 1 Rom. I dl'ed it from *removed* and well i extracted it and everything and a CDI File and a MSInfo Document. Ok now when i push start on the EMULATOR the blue circle come out and everything then it says something about SEGA and then it just freezes even the FPS at the bottom left of my screen freeze everything just comes to a stand still. Any one wanna help me with this plz?

hagbard
November 28th, 2005, 01:39
I think you're talking about a Dreamcast ISO, and th Chankast emulator. You need the DC Bios files, then unzip to the Chankast folder. The ISO might not be self bootable, so use the Utopia Boot Disc 1.1 (UBD).

http://forums.emulator-zone.com/showthread.php?t=4082&page=2

Roodee
November 28th, 2005, 01:58
Yeah man sorry im not all that specific well i got the Bios and the Flash that i need and then i got the UBD and i have that in Daemon Tools ver. 4 i think it is the new one. well i load that up in the Chankast and i get this raindeer or something then i try to unmount the image from DT and it wont let me Unable to UNMOUNT image device 0 has outstanding open Handles. and thats where im stuck dont know what to do from there

hagbard
November 28th, 2005, 02:11
You have to mount the CDI image with Daemon Tools, unmount is to unload the emulated drive.

Roodee
November 28th, 2005, 03:36
ok i clicked MOUNT on DT after the UBD loaded and it still gives me that Error and the choices i have are ABORT, RETRY, and Ignore dont what to do.

hagbard
November 28th, 2005, 12:21
Perhaps this is your problem. Use another "dc_flash.bin" , sometimes helps (looks it's region dependent)

Also make sure you've ASPI installed ( get ForceASPI (http://forums.emulator-zone.com/showthread.php?t=3700) ), and change to "CD-ROM Interface XXX" from "CD-ROM interface ASPI" on "Plugins" -> "Configure". You have to selected the DT virtual drive in Chankast too

Otherwise, you might fix it by disabling "Devices - restrict CD-ROM acces to current user" on Control Panel -> Administration Tools -> Local security policies -> Local policies.

Roodee
November 29th, 2005, 01:43
Dude now its giving me an error "Caant read TOC from e:Drive" that happened after i put the ASPI Cd plugin. And dude i went to Administrative tools and i dont have Local security policies so i dont know how to turn that off. Thank you for helping me so far i appreciate it.

hagbard
November 29th, 2005, 02:12
Which Windows version are you using? I'm talking about XP, and officially only Windows 2003 and XP are supported. ASPI should work anyway if you got ASPI (ForceASPI, or Nero's wanspi32.dll) installed. Did you select the proper (DT) drive on "Options" -> "Configure Drive"?

Roodee
November 29th, 2005, 08:45
Yeah man i have Windows XP home edition and i have the Right DT Drive selected in the Emulator and i have the Force ASPI i have it in my Documents is that where its supposed to be? I just unzipped it there and left it there and then just tried it in the Emulator and it gave me that error. Dang i dont think ill ever get this damn Emu to work

hagbard
November 30th, 2005, 02:10
So if you got XP, "CD-ROM Interface XXX" should work but not sure about the Home Edition. Anyway, looks you didn't install ForceASPI: launch/run "INSTASPI.BAT", and follow the instructions.

Genome
November 30th, 2005, 22:32
sorry this is quasi-offtopic but is chankast working now? last time i was here (many months ago) chankast worked but it couldnt really support any dreamcast games. my questions i guess are. 1. does it work. 2 does it have cd-rom support. 3. how big are the isos

(sorry i went o/t there but i just had to ask. good luck getting your emu to work man)

alcoatjez
November 30th, 2005, 23:21
sorry this is quasi-offtopic but is chankast working now? last time i was here (many months ago) chankast worked but it couldnt really support any dreamcast games. my questions i guess are. 1. does it work. 2 does it have cd-rom support. 3. how big are the isos

(sorry i went o/t there but i just had to ask. good luck getting your emu to work man)

I have to do this without having the emu now, so I hope my answers are correct ;)
1. It works pretty good. It supports a lot of DC games already at good speed.
2. Don't know. Definately not GD-ROM, but perhaps CD-ROM.
3. The ISOs can be up to a bit above 1GB, since that's the capacity of a GD-ROM. Most games are around 700MB though (unpacked).

hagbard
December 1st, 2005, 01:00
I agree with alco but I want to add something about question 2: It can perfectly run CD-ROMs (never GD-ROMs), I meant recorded ISOs on CD, even runs Utopia Boot Discs so non-selfbootable games might work this way. It makes no diference from emulated media on DT btw.

Roodee
December 1st, 2005, 07:38
ok dude i clicked on that file in the ASPI or whatever thing and it works now loading in Chankast. the cds work now i dont get that error anymore and now i can mount the CDI file but is it supposed to load by itself or do i push start?

hagbard
December 1st, 2005, 13:02
It's supposed to load by itself if it's self bootable. Check this thread (http://forums.emulator-zone.com/showthread.php?t=4082&page=2) for more info. A forum search would help too.