Emulator Problem: A How-To Tutorial for Sega Emulators

I'm as new as it gets when it comes to getting Sega emulators such as Saturn and Dreamcast to work. I'm already familiar with Gensplus and am able to get games on it to run flawlessly (except for Sega CD games and 32x); I've had some experience with Chankast and Satourne, and unless any might suggest otherwise for good reason, I'd like to keep the discussion between these two emulators.

What I'm green behind the ears about is how to successfully mount such files as .bin, .cue, and .iso in such a way that I'm able to play them on the emulators without having to burn the actual images and their accompanying files (like MP3s) on CDs or DVDs. So far the problems I've encountered on Satourne with a .iso type rom are incredibly slow graphics and sound (although it may just be the sounds, but I'm not sure), even though I made sure to configure the plugins and put everything in it's place. The .bin type roms I'm not even sure what happens. They just take me to Saturn's no-disc menu with grating noise in the background. Also, I notice that with Satourne, I only hear the sound when the program window is active as opposed to the separate game window that pops up when I push play.

Basically, what I would like is a comprehensive tutorial on how to get Saturn and Dreamcast emulators to run their respective roms when it comes to their different file formats. If anyone can refer me to a relevant thread or two on here than can solve my problems, I'd appreciate it. Other than that, I'm somewhat in the dark.

Zach

Saturn (not sure about DC) emulation is to be honest, still in its infancy.

There are very few emulators out there, and they all work with certain games to a varying degree. The Saturn is an incredibly complex system to emulate due to its multiple CPU's (also a bitch to programs games for).

If you haven't tried SSF you might want to look into it, as it seems to run most games at least half decent.