PDA

View Full Version : Cd (E:) No worky...



Gohan
December 5th, 2004, 15:07
My (E:) drive wont work, it wont show up either,
I try installing it and tried rolling back drivers and troubleshooting but
it wont work
i look for drivers and shit on dell.com, but i dont know what the fuck i'm doing
can anyone help me?

Jale
December 5th, 2004, 15:16
I don't know, give me more details.
Do you have two CD-ROM drives?
How many CD-ROM drives appear in MY COMPUTER?
If that one is (E:) then who is (D:)? :huh:

montpics
December 5th, 2004, 15:51
Calm down, calm down, fella. :)

So, is your CD drive is working before that problem occured. Or, can you tell me what had u done to your PC lately? ;)

Gohan
December 5th, 2004, 17:34
It was working, i have 1 cd drive, but like
2 dvd drives show up, when i have no DVD,
i had daemon tools but i deleted it a long time ago
and every time i try to uninstall the 2 other drives
they come back after reboot

what have i done?
nothing really, i think, @ first my nero wouldn't work
or i think it just wouldn't burn

Jale
December 5th, 2004, 17:53
Maybe you didn't unistall it at all. Try using Add or Remove Programs from the Control Panel. and look for Daemon Tools in the list or simply, disable them.

I guess your CD-ROM drive doesn't work due to a CONFLICT with Daemon Tools.

Jet Set Willy
December 5th, 2004, 19:10
Would you damn well stop GUESSING and only give advice when you have a CLUE?

When my CD drives go missing I remove them physically (unplug the IDE cables leading to the motherboard), boot, shutdown the computer again, connect the cables again, boot - they usually show up again after that.

Also, check your computer's BIOS that all drives are being recognised at a lower level than the OS.

Jale
December 5th, 2004, 19:15
I GUESS because I don&#39;t use Daemon Tools <_< And why do you think they&#39;re no clues? :huh:

Jet Set Willy
December 5th, 2004, 19:19
No, listen and understand: If you have no idea about the problem or how to solve it, don&#39;t just give generic useless instructions. Do not post for the sake of being heard.

Gohan
December 5th, 2004, 20:40
OK, i&#39;ll try that,

JAP you post whore... :o

how can i check teh bios?

Robert
December 6th, 2004, 09:15
The things to check

Firstly go into bios, make sure all 4 drives are set to auto-detect

When computer boots up, it will show what drives are detected, problem
is that it disappears before you can read it.

IDE devices (hard drives and cdroms) usually don&#39;t need special drivers,
they will just show up in My Computer.

make sure all cables are inserted properly.

make sure no conflicts with master and slave settings

If a drive refuses to show, put it in another computer and see if it appears
there. If not, it&#39;s probably had it.

Tell us what you find.

**
To get into the bios, you press a special key when computer is first turned on.
It&#39;s different for various brands. Compaq usually F10, Dell usually F2, other may
be DELETE key. Once you&#39;re there look at standard settings (normally first
thing in the list), this is where you set the time and set what floppy and hard
drives.