first time user, help with FF8 pc

syuvial

insert krappy title here
i downloaded FF8 for my laptop as well as a program called powerISO, i mounted the .daa file with powerISO, and the install disc ran fine. when i start the file however, and select new game, it tells me to insert disc one.

i got instructions elsewhere online, that told me to go into regedit and change the location of the data drive to whatever virtual drive i had installed that disc on, and then continue with the game. but when i do that and go back into the game it just tells me wrong disc like it did before.

im sorry if this is a stupid mistake, but this is my first time doing anything like this, and the only reason i am is because my copy of the actual game broke.

syuvial

insert krappy title here
okay, im gonna be a little bit more specific:

What i have is five .daa files of final fantasy VIII for the PC and a program called powerISO.

i mounted the install disc and ran the installation program, and it made a shortcut and the .exe to run the game. when i click on that it loads the starting screen where you select new load or options. when i select new it tells me to insert disc one. this is where it gets confusing.

i was told on another forum that to change games i had to use ctrl+alt+del to exit the window without closing it, go into regedit and change the "data drive" to the name of the virtual drive that powerISO had created that i had the disc installed on.

i mounted FF8 disc 1 on the virtual drive [f] and went into regedit to change the data drive accordingly. whan i returned to the game and indicated that i had inserted the disc, it came up with the error message "warning, wrong disc" but it was the actual games warning message, not the computers so i dont think that its an error with the actual files, i think im doing something wrong.