TEST THREAD IGNORE

Ryanfaescotland

Hey I'm just trying to write a good copy n paste-able message to answer some of the most common questions/statements ie I'm new to emulation: why won't my game work, what's an emulator, what's a rom, where can I find them, how do they work.

I know it's rich, a new guy with about 20posts thinking he knows the most common first posts but I'd bet I'm right.

If any of the mods are against this idea please say so here or PM me and I will stop making it otherwise feel free to suggest anything to add/remove.

This is what I've got so far:

Welcome to the site. I'm new here aswell but have been playing with emulators for a while now. Hopefully some of the information below will help you. A lot of new comers seem to have little or no knowledge about emulators so I've wrote this post in the hope to clear up some matters.

First thing read the rules of the site because almost everyone makes the same mistakes when just starting on this forum and by reading the rules hopefully you won't.

Now some basics. An emulator is needed to play roms just like a console is needed to play games and exactly like playstation games need a playstation console, playstation roms need a playstation emulator. So that's how to think of things.

There are lot's of emulators out there and you may need to try a couple to find which works best with your computer, personally I use ePSXe for Playstation, ZSnes for Super Nintendo, Gens32 for Mega Drive and Speculator for Spectrum. Other emulators can be found easily through Google by using search terms such as "Playstation emulator" "Dreamcast emulator" "N64 emulator" and so on.