Updating ROMs: What's all that about?

TwistedWhizz

I've had a bit of an enforced exile from MAME recently, due to having to perform a clean install on my PC. Nothing nasty like virus's or anything, it was just getting bogged down with crap. I like to do it every few months or so. Anyway I digress...

I come back to this site, ready to stick my MAME32 and games on the PC again, only to find there's a new version of MAME32 - v115. And I'm now reading about how people are finding that their ROMs don't work on this new version!

So, I'm in a bit of a panic now. I want to use the more up to date versions, but does that mean that each time a new version of MAME is released I have to spend any spare time I have downloading updated versions of my ROMs? I'm pretty new to the whole thing, having only around 850 ROMs so far, so if there is any good advice you have I'd love to hear it. Many thanks. :bow:

FatTrucker

Abusus non tollit usum
The first thing to do is use a rom manager like Clrmamepro with the latest mame dat to check your roms for errors.
Clrmame will rename and make any adjustments to your roms to be compatible with the latest mame.
After Clrmamepro has done its thing, it should report any remaining roms that have been updated or re-dumped that now have files missing. You can then use whatever resources you use to obtain updated versions of these roms.

Alternatively you can just use an older version of Mame32 thats compatible with your roms. Older versions can be downloaded here.

If you audit and update your roms regularly its a quick and easy process to keep your mame install up to date.
If (like me) you only update your roms and mame version every 6 months or so it can be a bit of a task to get everything updated.