Technically ePSXe Dumb ...

stelf12

Hi those more experienced than me in ePSXe emulation. I have created a backup iso of my final fantasy vii game but when I try to run iso, just a black screen shows up. I can run it from my cd but no dice from my iso. I feel like I need a boot cd or something to play a backup of my game on my emulator. Is this correct?

I used adripsx and it actually tells you what's wrong when it tries to boot it. It says there is no playstation executable (which a boot disc does for you). Any thoughts or ideas?

-=VampyR=-

Immortal
Create the .iso with Alcohol 120%,CloneCD or ISOBuster.

stelf12

Is there a reason you have told me and that other post to use that software? I am a computer engineer so I can understand anything technically you through my way. I know that the sony discs has a boot sector that when you copy the games, it does not copy the boot sector. Does the software you list copy them?

stelf12

Oh yeah, also, when I examine the .iso using winrar, is there files that I can look for to check if the .iso was created correctly to run on the epsxe emu?

-=VampyR=-

Immortal
I didn't know you're a computer engineer.You should have said that in the first place,some people are not only emu-n00bs but also computer-n00bs so I have to use other ways of explaining.

The software I listed are the best,they make exact copies.
Using RAW/DAO copying is the best way to obtain a good disc.

After you make the .iso (or .ccd,.cue,.bin whatever) just mount it with Daemon Tools (fake/virtual drive software) and play the game...or burn it. (burn the .cue file)
You can play the .iso directly from File -> Run ISO.

I assume you will use the best PSX emu...ePSXe.

If I had to choose any of the above listed software it'll be Alcohol 120%,it even has a PlayStation option so it's easy to use...and I think it has a 1 month trial...but it's worth the money.
All my PS2/PSX backups made with Alcohol 120% worked.

Please do not double post use the EDIT function.