Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: What 64 emulator should I use?

  1. #1
    The New Kid
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    6

    Default What 64 emulator should I use?

    Hi everyone. This is my first post here, and it's because I can't seem to be able to run games fast enough. I am getting 60 FPS on the intro to Goldeneye and 23 in the actual gameplay. I disabled sound but that didn't do much.

    Here are my PC specs:
    728 MHz Pentium III
    256 MB RAM
    Windows XP SP1
    NVIDIA GeForce 3


    I tried Corn but I downloaded it and got:
    CornH
    CornL
    NeSC
    read_me

    CornH and CornL just loaded a blank white screen. I tried loading games with them at the same time but that didn't work. What else can I use?


    Thanks

  2. #2
    Say wha??? Jale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Age
    34
    Posts
    6,447

    Default Re: What 64 emulator should I use?

    Well, you have 2 choices: Project64 and 1964. Try with 1964 and its frame skipping feature.

  3. #3
    The New Kid
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: What 64 emulator should I use?

    Quote Originally Posted by Butters
    Well, you have 2 choices: Project64 and 1964. Try with 1964 and its frame skipping feature.
    Well if I upgrade my video card will that make it 100 FPS?

    How much do I have to spend to get a good vid card that'll max out the FPS?

    And.....

    How do I know if I have an AGP port (I heard I needed one)

  4. #4
    Say wha??? Jale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Age
    34
    Posts
    6,447

    Default Re: What 64 emulator should I use?

    60 fps is the smoothest I know so far, but you must know that not all games run at 60 fps, not even on the real N64 hardware; and your GeForce 3 meets the Project64 system requirements, so I think you don't need to upgrade it. The only thing you should upgrade is your video card's drivers. You can find them at http://www.nvidia.com.

    How do I know if I have an AGP port (I heard I needed one)
    See your motherboard's manual, but having a GeForce 3 means that you have an AGP. I guess...
    Last edited by Jale; October 3rd, 2005 at 00:42.

  5. #5
    The New Kid
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: What 64 emulator should I use?

    With Goldeneye I'm getting 40 FPS in-game....a little laggy.

  6. #6
    Say wha??? Jale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Age
    34
    Posts
    6,447

    Default Re: What 64 emulator should I use?

    I know, but Goldeneye should NOT surpass its "designed" fps, because the game speeds up, at least for me and it's uncomfortable.

  7. #7
    The New Kid
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: What 64 emulator should I use?

    Ya so now I guess all games aren't really suitable for play on emulators? Here's what I wanna play. Let me know

    Wayne Gretzky's Hockey
    NFL Blitz
    Legend of Zelda Ocarina
    majoras mask
    Mario kart
    diddy kong racing

    let me know Butters. I <3 u

  8. #8
    Say wha??? Jale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Age
    34
    Posts
    6,447

    Default Re: What 64 emulator should I use?

    Most of the games are fully playable, some with known issues, and some not supported or not emulable.

    - Legend of Zelda Ocarina
    - majoras mask
    - Mario kart
    - diddy kong racing

    Those games are fully compatible with Project64, I know this since I have and played them with no problems.

    - Wayne Gretzky's Hockey
    - NFL Blitz

    You should run them with no problems either.

  9. #9
    The New Kid
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: What 64 emulator should I use?

    Ya I just got this Boom thing from the internet to adapt the USB to 64 controller....how do I set this up with the emulator (p64)

  10. #10
    The New Kid
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: What 64 emulator should I use?

    Well I figured that out no prob but like Starfox Zelda and other shit is poorly ran.


    Gahhhh how should I configure my shit?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •