Page 3 of 10 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 92

Thread: Can I play Sonic CD on Gens?

  1. #21
    north west south west Genome's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    married, loving life, and couldnt be happier.
    Age
    32
    Posts
    693

    Default

    if you do want to make an iso then use this link

    http://www.alcohol-soft.com/

    its a simple easy to use program that will let you make backups of all of your games..including sonic cd! that way you can run iso files.


    p.s. you may want to consider that you incorrectly set up your bios. ( i had my psx bios set up incorrectly for almost a year and i could swear it was all perfectly ready to play)


    ****EdIt****
    oops sorry ghost i missed your link. so ...sorry
    Last edited by Genome; April 18th, 2005 at 15:05.
    My home arcade project is offically underway!

    keep posted on it!!!

    Pictures of my nearly finished box up now at...

    http://forums.emulator-zone.com/show...5707#post85707

    and video at...
    http://vids.myspace.com/index.cfm?fu...8-6a57fad40dac

  2. #22
    emu wizard the_ghost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    New York City
    Age
    33
    Posts
    368

    Default

    SORT OF


    my question is:

    Is there really any difference between the MEGA CD Bios
    SEGA CD Bios?

    Last edited by the_g_host; April 19th, 2005 at 08:39.

  3. #23
    Capo di Tutti Capi alcoatjez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Age
    39
    Posts
    1,602

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by the_g_host
    SORT OF


    my question is:

    Is there really any difference between the MEGA CD Bios
    SEGA CD Bios?

    Yes, there is. Try using one of them and you'll see. They look different and of course there's the NTSC/PAL difference.

  4. #24
    Off The Scale hagbard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Definitely not here
    Age
    40
    Posts
    2,465

    Default

    Sega CD = USA name
    Mega CD = Japan & Europe name

    Btw, only the model 1 bios are recommend for emulators
    The legend will never die...

    riaru na sekai ni yureteru kanjyou
    maketakunai
    mou tada hashiru shikanai kono mune ni
    kikoete kuru
    kimi wa hitori jyanai

  5. #25

    Default

    Well this topic is pretty old, so I doubt I'll get a response, but it's worth a try. I too recently bought Sonic CD, and it won't work on my Windows XP. I've done everything you guys said, but the closest I get is to the screen where you have to press the start button, except it never says "press the start button" and pressing the button doesn't do anything. This is with an ISO made with ISOproducer. If I try running it off the disk it just goes to the sound tester menu like missinglink said he experienced. Anyway, any help would be appreciated a lot!
    Last edited by Frost_King; June 13th, 2005 at 04:02.

  6. #26

    Default

    My only suggestion would be to try using the Kega Fusion emulator instead.

  7. #27
    Off The Scale hagbard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Definitely not here
    Age
    40
    Posts
    2,465

    Default

    Did you have ASPI (forceASPI) installed? You also need to set your drive (for the real original CD) or your virtual drive (for your mounted ISO with Daemon Tools) as the one used by Gens or Kega Fusion. Avoid 2.0 bios too.
    The legend will never die...

    riaru na sekai ni yureteru kanjyou
    maketakunai
    mou tada hashiru shikanai kono mune ni
    kikoete kuru
    kimi wa hitori jyanai

  8. #28
    emu wizard the_ghost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    New York City
    Age
    33
    Posts
    368

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Frost_King
    If I try running it off the disk it just goes to the sound tester menu like missinglink said he experienced. Anyway, any help would be appreciated a lot!
    wow alot of the old threads are getting bumped up
    now, lol, I guess nobody has anything else to talk about ( just kidding)
    @ hagbard
    I think he has ASPI or ForceASPI installed, If not he would not even be able to get to the sound test in the bios (but thats just my guess)

    @ Frost_king
    If the instructions here dont help you, then I dont know exactly whats wrong I do know that there is a patch for the game to fix that problem
    (Missinglink1 Knows where to get it but he just came here to get help and doesnt post here anymore).
    If you bought the game then try to find the patch and make an .ISO
    with with Alcohol 120% (better copy factor+emulation of cd protections)
    its not freeware (if you only need it for a while then just get the trial)
    then patch the .ISO.

    Or just download a patched copy (thats what I did, at least I think mine is patched, Im not sure) (sorry no links here)
    you will have to RIP the mp3's from your CD if you download an ISO of the game. then follow the instuctions in this thread to get it working
    or mount the ISO with alcohol 120% or Daemon tools(freeware) both are the same when it comes to virtual drive emulation

    use google
    Last edited by the_ghost; June 13th, 2005 at 18:45.

  9. #29

    Default

    Ok, I know I probably seem pretty stupid, but how would I go about making an ISO with Alcohol 120%?

    As for the patch, is it an official patch, or not? Also, do you know what the patch is called, because searching "Sonic CD" patch on google doesn't really bring up a narrow list of results...

    Anyway, thank you for all your help again.

  10. #30
    emu wizard the_ghost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    New York City
    Age
    33
    Posts
    368

    Default

    to make an ISO using Alcohol120%,make sure the disk is in the drive then just click on "image making wizard" then press the "next" button
    and then there will be a drop down list on the bottom right corner
    select "standerd ISO image" and press next and so on. Its not all that hard to make one.

    as for the patch, I have no idea what its called. And I dont think its official
    because these games were never ment to be played on a computer.
    Last edited by the_ghost; June 14th, 2005 at 06:45.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •