Page 2 of 10 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 92

Thread: Can I play Sonic CD on Gens?

  1. #11

    Default

    Well with the new BIOs it just takes me to a different sound text screen. When I first see the BIOs screen it says SEGA and says press start. I press start and it takes me to a sound test screen again, but the layout of it is different this time. Perhaps I'm not doing the right thing in the BIOs logo, or maybe my CD is messed up...

    Sonic Boom
    Sonic Boom
    Sonic Boom

  2. #12
    Off The Scale hagbard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Definitely not here
    Age
    40
    Posts
    2,465

    Default

    Maybe your CD rom drive it's not supported, or ASPI its' not correctly installed.
    I'd try to make an ISO as the_g_ghost said, but with CdrWin, CloneCD, Nero, etc. Those are shareware and great programs. Please use google for get them. Use the image creation option from these apps.
    The legend will never die...

    riaru na sekai ni yureteru kanjyou
    maketakunai
    mou tada hashiru shikanai kono mune ni
    kikoete kuru
    kimi wa hitori jyanai

  3. #13
    emu wizard the_ghost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    New York City
    Age
    33
    Posts
    368

    Default

    i cant play cds on Gens either
    i had to make an ISO to play sega cd games

    and CDRwin comes with its own Aspi drivers
    weather or not these are the right ones i cant tell
    Last edited by the_g_host; April 17th, 2005 at 02:43.

  4. #14

    Default

    Horay! I finally got the game running! But there's no music and minimal sound effects. Could someone please tell me how to fix it?

    Sonic Boom
    Sonic Boom
    Sonic Boom

  5. #15
    emu wizard the_ghost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    New York City
    Age
    33
    Posts
    368

    Default

    JUST PLAY WITH THE SOUND SETTINGS
    THE SOUND WORKS FINE ON MY COMPUTER

    THE SETTINGS SHOULD LOOK LIKE THIS



    Spoiler





    IF THEY ARE ALREADY SET LIKE THAT THEN TRY DIFFERENT SETTINGS REMEMBER
    OUR COMPUTERS ARE NOT THE SAME DIFFERENT SETTINGS APPLY TO DIFFERENT COMPUTERS
    Quote Originally Posted by hagbard
    I'd try to make an ISO as the_g_ghost said, but with CdrWin, CloneCD, Nero, etc.
    you can just call me ghost for short (the_g_host=the ghost)
    Last edited by the_g_host; April 17th, 2005 at 09:50.

  6. #16
    Off The Scale hagbard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Definitely not here
    Age
    40
    Posts
    2,465

    Default

    How did you make it work? From ISO or CD?

    Afaik you previously can listen the music but not play the game, now you can play game but not listen to the music...
    Last edited by hagbard; April 17th, 2005 at 10:35.
    The legend will never die...

    riaru na sekai ni yureteru kanjyou
    maketakunai
    mou tada hashiru shikanai kono mune ni
    kikoete kuru
    kimi wa hitori jyanai

  7. #17

    Default

    I've never had a problem playing a ISO+MP3 rip of the game I have in Gens

  8. #18
    Off The Scale hagbard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Definitely not here
    Age
    40
    Posts
    2,465

    Default

    Yup, but ever it's better a the real CD or a cue-bin, because of imprecission of mp3 format.

  9. #19
    emu wizard the_ghost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    New York City
    Age
    33
    Posts
    368

    Default

    Horray

    Ive figured it out!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    i did some research and found out that the version of soniccd that i have is the BETA510 (very rare) the first sonic cd version(i think).
    forget using the CD, you have to use the ISO format.

    You have to find the soundtrack mp3 files on the internet(make sure that they are for version of the game.if you have the beta, then you need the beta mp3 files)and rename them accordingly.

    If your Iso image is named soniccdb.iso then rename the mp3 files soniccdbxx.mp3(xx=track number) (example take track 2 and rename it SONICCDB02.MP3(IF IT IS A SINGLE DIGIT TRACK THEN MAKE SURE TO PLACE THE "0" INFRONT OF THAT NUMBER)

    Once you have renamed them correctly create a folder and name whatever you want to name it and place sonicCDb.iso into that folder place then place all of the renamed MP3 file inside that folder also (the beta version has 32 tracks)

    now run Gens and select OPEN ROM and find the directory with the ISO and MP3 files inside them select sonicCDb.iso and click on open
    (remember the mp3 files have to be in that folder also for the music to play)

    I know this works because i tested it myself with both the beta and the US final versions

    if you have questions about this method than PM me
    >>>>>CLICK HERE TO PM THE_G_HOST<<<<<
    Last edited by the_g_host; April 17th, 2005 at 12:41.

  10. #20
    emu wizard the_ghost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    New York City
    Age
    33
    Posts
    368

    Default

    [sorry for the double post]
    Quote Originally Posted by hagbard
    How did you make it work? From ISO or CD?

    Afaik you previously can listen the music but not play the game, now you can play game but not listen to the music...
    misinglink1 sent me a pm saying that he finaly got it working using the method that i suggested

    i wonder why he didnt post his feedback

    oh well

    glad i was able to help

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •