Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Player 2 Start button

  1. #1
    The New Kid
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Location
    Bartlesville, OK
    Posts
    5

    Default Player 2 Start button

    Here is my problem. Lets say I select Joust from the Maximus Arcade FE, it loads through MAME. I add a coin, (using an X-Arcade cabinet with the Tankstick) and start the game. All is good but the wife wants to play as Player 2, adds a coin and hits Player 2 Start but it doesn't register. Some other details: button and wiring check good with a meter. Using the X-Arcade Test Utility Program shows ALL buttons work EXCEPT the Player 2 Start. One last consideration: In the X-Arcade/Maximus game menu, I can reboot the computer by holding Player 2 Start + pressing the Player 1 Coin button, and it will reboot. So MAME doesn't recognize the button but Maximus does? Must be a setting somewhere?

    Bear with me as i got the cabinet from a coworker and it wouldn't play anything. So I got, finally after a week, a package from X-Arcade and reloaded the software. I have had the cabinet for just over two weeks now and i am a complete noob to all this, but trying to learn quickly. If i remember correctly I managed to play a Street Fighter II (before the software reload) through the screen saver and the Player 2 Start button worked then. I am somewhat (stressing somewhat) competent navigating through this stuff, but please remember, two weeks ago I didn't even know what ROMs or MAME were. I guess we all start somewhere. Thanks in advance for any help. -Mark

  2. #2
    The New Kid
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Location
    Bartlesville, OK
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Player 2 Start button

    X-Arcade is sending a new pc board for the tankstick. Lets see if that fixes it.

  3. #3
    Talkative Talker pix07's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Poland
    Age
    30
    Posts
    559
    Last edited by pix07; July 30th, 2020 at 18:03.
    “Talk is cheap. Show me the code.- Linus Torvalds ”

  4. #4
    The New Kid
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Location
    Bartlesville, OK
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Player 2 Start button

    Thank you Pix07. I have worked through some of those support links and the forum link had some good info too. I might play around with those while I wait for the pcb. Here is why we are going to replace it, and they are sending it for free. Nice. The pcb failed the jumper test. I put a multimeter to the P2 Start Button and wiring and everything rang out good. However, when you jumper the pins on the pcb, the X-arcade test program should show that the button is being pressed. I don't get a response on the screen from the program. Maybe a bad solder finally let loose. I hope I have time to play more with it to get familiar with the system since I haven't had it for very long, but I also have a lot of yard work to do. LoL
    Thanks again for the info!

  5. #5
    Cool Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Posts
    35

    Default Re: Player 2 Start button

    Thank you for posting this. I also have my issues with player 2 button. Thanks for the information. I will keep on visiting here for more tips.Mobile dog groomers near me

  6. #6
    The New Kid
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Location
    Bartlesville, OK
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Player 2 Start button

    I don't know how long it will take to receive the pcb, but I will let you know how it goes.

  7. #7
    The New Kid
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Location
    Bartlesville, OK
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Player 2 Start button

    New PC board did not fix the Player2 Button not responding. Same condition, even jumping the two pins on the new PC board show no response from the Tankstick Test Program.

    What would cause only one button not to work?

  8. #8
    Talkative Talker pix07's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Poland
    Age
    30
    Posts
    559

    Default Re: Player 2 Start button

    If issue is with software download new or old version which works.

    Im dont see other solution.
    “Talk is cheap. Show me the code.- Linus Torvalds ”

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •