Emulator Problem: Gamepad not working

AliceF

Ok, so I'm not tech savvy at all. I downloaded Epsxe and the game I wanted, and a Youtube tutorial helped me get the game working.

I have a USB controller which I can't seem to get to work with the game I'm trying to play. the game itself works fine, but I can't cope with the keyboard controls.

I have padSeguDIJoy.dll saved on the plugins for the emulator, and have tried configuring the gamepad about a million times but when I get on the actual game, the controller doesn't work. F5 doesn't help me either.

I'm probably doing something wrong, or have missed something, so if someone knows what that is and can tell me, I'd be very grateful!

Also, I had a different emulator years ago ( a friend helped me with that) and the controller worked fine with that, so I don't think it's broken.

Last edited:

jeruka9-san

Rookie Developer >_> <_<
Last edited:

malloc4096

u should try the basics first

see if the controller is detected and functions in windows itself. in..
>control panel \ game controllers
or >start \ run "joy.cpl" (is just the run sortcut for the above app).
goto properties and make sure the buttons react
if not first thing id try is switching usb ports.

the faq seems to be outdated, but some of it may still apply or help point in the right direction. i wouldn't know tho, havnt used a psx emu since 1.6. the bellow quote is from www.epsxe.com/files/ePSXe_FAQ.txt

to access regedit, goto >start \ run "regedit"
yes, i know ur a newb, just don't mess with anything ur not sapose to in regedit and it won't break... navigating to the location specified by the faq if neccessary is obvious once regedit is open, im telling u how to access it because it didnt, another thing faq fails to mention is some registry settings might not take affect untill you restart ur pc.