Windows 8 emulator?

IdolMechanic1

I am new to this but ive looked everywhere and all I want is a windows 8 emulator for windows 10. Does anyone know where I can find one for free?

ulaoulao

Controller Man
Staff member
Either A, you dont know what you are talking about or b you dont know what you are asking? There really is no such thing is a "windows" emulator of any kind. You don't emulate operating systems (for the most part)?

Possible guesses at what you are asking?

Things like virtual-pc and vmware. You can run an OS in an OS.
Compatibility mode, lets you run application in windows 10, that worked in 8. This is built in to the OS.
DosBox, This does emulate an OS but its more like emulating DOS, and I'm guessing has nothing to do with what you want.

If I struck out here, give us more detail on what you really need to do.

Last edited:

Touko White

I'm cute, aren't I?
This person did the obligatory thing on this kind of board and left after 1 post, so that doesn't help.

Emulating something horrible isn't a great idea. Do XP instead on VB!
And while anyone's at it get xubuntu which is great and easy to use. You can still use higan on it, too.

ulaoulao

Controller Man
Staff member
xubuntu, is not a wise choice for anyone looking to get in to linux. kubuntu is much better as its closer to windows ubuntu is a good match for mac. xubuntu is a very slimmed down desktop.Albeit all the same OS, the desktop makes a big difference for the new.

Last edited:

Robert

Off topic I l know, but its good to see ya Rob. :D

Yes, it's been a while... :)

May as well stay off topic, since the original post was so ridiculous..

As for Unix variants, I've never tried any of them, and hopefully will never have to. However, with Windows (10 in particular) being so insecure these days, we need an OS that offers true privacy while still as easy to use as XP.

Last edited:

ulaoulao

Controller Man
Staff member