MAME.INI?

UglyStick

I can't find a mame.ini file. I'm trying to activate my cheat.dat file. But no luck on finding said mame.ini file.

I downloaded MAME0126b. Perhaps a version dis-correlation?

Any help would be appreciated. I'm really new at this stuff.

FatTrucker

Abusus non tollit usum
If you're using commandline mame you need to generate one using the commandline.

Hit the Start button on your desktop, go to the run command and type cmd, this will open a command prompt.

Change the directory to your mame folder C:\mame or wherever you've put it.

type mame -cc (including the space between mame and -cc)

This will generate a mame.ini.

Alternatively download MameUI from http://mameui.classicgaming.gamespy.com/ and use that instead.

cemf81

Hey guys! I created a mame.ini with the command mame -cc, and i saw the rom path, so I created a floder with the name "roms" in the same folder, when I try to execute any game show me
sfix.sfix NOT FOUND
000-lo.lo WRONG LENGTH (expected: 00020000 found: 00010000)
000-lo.lo WRONG CHECKSUMS:
EXPECTED: CRC(5a86cff2) SHA1(5992277debadeb64d1c1c64b0a92d9293eaf7e4a)
FOUND: CRC(e09e253c) SHA1(xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

ERROR: requiered files are missing, the game cannot be run.

What i'm doing wrong? tks.

FatTrucker

Abusus non tollit usum
Either the game rom is missing, the game rom is out of date or incomplete or the game has a parent rom thats missing or the game requires a CHD (hard disk or CD image) that's missing. Looking at that error it looks like a missing CHD.

Basically mame is trying to launch a game and isn't finding the files it expects to in the rom folder.

All roms should remain zipped all CHD's should remain in an unzipped folder. So for example in the rom folder, Killer Instinct will have a zipped rom called Kinst.zip and a folder containing the CHD just called Kinst.