Kubuntu - Ubuntu

cibomatto2002

Windows 10
I'm going to download Ubuntu when 8.04 comes out you can install this one in windows :) Anyway what I need to know is can Ubuntu run all Linux programs out there also can it run all Kubuntu programs.

Here is a video of Ubuntu 8.04 Installing in windows

http://video.google.com/videoplay?d...23&start=0&num=100&so=0&type=search&plindex=1

I think this may get alot of people to use Linux

Lets hope it is easy to uninstall

I hope you do not need to have windows to install it

Deezbeez

Hail to the King
As a past computer tech I can speak on the awesomeness of Unbuntu. You don't even need a hard drive to run it(or at least you didn't use to). As far as I know you don't need windows to install it as long as you have the disc of course.

Jale

Running Linux on CD is a lot slower than running it on a HDD, so I'd rather have it installed.

Zach

Not the first version of Linux to do this. Anyway it's not gonna make anyone switch..

Linux has too many distributions, and no centralized agreed upon flagship distribution that everyone should get.. While this is not really an issue, as most applications will run on any distro, except for when its compiled for KDE vs another desktop kernal thingy, or simply made for a particular kernal period (seems rare enough) it still confuses tons of people.

File organization also confuses a lot of people, as they are used to the windows hierarchy.. The most important reason many people will not switch is they don't want to give up their favorite applications.

That's a big problem for me.. Sure I can run a couple games, and apps via Wine or whatever but its not the same.. installing can be a bitch, there can be glitches, etc.. Until major application and gaming companies give real, dedicated support to Linux ports of their software - this mass user conversion, much like the second coming of christ, will NEVER happen.