Homebrew USB PS1 controller

RiderLeangle

Are there any guides on making Homebrew USB PSX (A.K.A PS1) controllers (With Dual-Shock).
Heres the tools I think I'll need.
1: PSX Dual Shock Controller
2: USB Port Extender Cable (Doesn't work as one anymore, I think somewhere inside the Wire is broken)
3: Small Philips-Head Screwdriver (In case I have to open the controller)
4: Scissors (Pretty self explanitory, to cut the wires)
5: Possible Electrical Tape (To cover everthing up)

For the record I have very little experience so I need one tht can be done successfully by a beginer.

ulaoulao

Controller Man
Staff member
Ya a few..

for the non dula shock psx-n64 http://www.zen35383.zen.co.uk/stnield/usbpads.htm

That is the most common..

here is a much better one in the works , here is the gc/n64

http://www.raphnet.net/electronique/gc_n64_usb/index_en.php

He plans to do a psx version soon. I will be working on this my self.

now in response to this..
1: PSX Dual Shock Controller
2: USB Port Extender Cable (Doesn't work as one anymore, I think somewhere inside the Wire is broken)
3: Small Philips-Head Screwdriver (In case I have to open the controller)
4: Scissors (Pretty self explanitory, to cut the wires)
5: Possible Electrical Tape (To cover everthing up)
I would say your in over your head. but if you wish to try it Ill help ya ;) And you will need to solder and get components. With no electronic background you may learn a lot by trial and error.. But! since we are working with 5 volts here the best you will suffer is a burn from the soldering gun and maybe a few burned components. I have built over 100 usb controllers and made mistakes my self. It will take learningm its not just wiring and taping up wires..... that only works for xbox.

Last edited:

RiderLeangle

So basicly I cannot make one with these alone?
componentsiwouldneed.jpg

I would say your in over your head.
Judging by those instruction pages, I think you might be right.