State of Dreamcast Emulation?

Zach

Just curious what the state of things is.. Are there one or two good emulators out there, with good performance and compatability? I'm not going to have to go to 50 different sites to find the best plugin am I?

In the process of acquiring a substantial collection of DC games, and my brother used to own one so I know he might be interested in that too.

Are used consoles available pretty cheap? (sub-$50 range)

AnAutisticDog

Such Coin. Many Doge.
Sorry I can't answer you, but I spent about 8 hours last night trying to get some Dreamcast emulators to work. The only one I could get to work was NullDC. NullDC is supposed to have good Compatibility.I started playing Jet Grind Radio for a bit and my PC isn't that powerful, but it ran just fine.
From my personal experience, I think that there is a certain way to set it up, that you ""HAVE"" to do to make the emulator work.
I eventually had to search forever for a version of NullDC that someone had already configured everything so it works, and it has all the plugins needed (I think it does). The Controller plugin worked too, I was surprised because everywhere I read it said that NullDC did not support gamepads.

I'm new to Dreamcast Emulating, so I could be wrong.
BTW. Zack, check your PMs.

Last edited:

FatTrucker

Abusus non tollit usum
Demul and NullDC are currently the best of the crop. Compatibility is very good, being roughly where PS1 emulation was about 18 months or so ago. Don't know how it is over there but over here DC consoles, games and peripherals can be had for hardly any money from sites like Ebay. (I recently bagged an unboxed but working DC, 12 games, controllers, VMU's and a lightgun for £22.

alcoatjez

Capo di Tutti Capi
In the process of acquiring a substantial collection of DC games, and my brother used to own one so I know he might be interested in that too.