PDA

View Full Version : Sega CD ram save help!



goosethemighty
November 12th, 2005, 03:44
Hey Guys,

I got Gens, got sega cd roms and bios. Works amazing, no problem getting them to work and run smoothly. Only problem is I can't save. I am sure this has been posted before but I need some help with those who have met my wall.

I read the Gens guide. I set the vurtual ram to 64. Opened the rom. Went into the memory and reformated it all. Opened game and got to a save point. Saved game. Restarted game and yet it told me I had to reformat the memory. Lost saved game. Reformated again and got back to the save point. Saved game and rebooted. Asked to reformat again.

This happened for Lunar silver star and Rise of the dragons. Am I doing something wrong? I followed gens notes and yet It keeps on asking me to format game?

Any sugestions or step bye step guids would be great!!

hagbard
November 15th, 2005, 15:25
I did it time ago but it worked flawlessly. Make sure you have correctly set the BRAM folder on Gens.

goosethemighty
November 15th, 2005, 16:33
do you mean sram cause i dont have a bram

hagbard
November 15th, 2005, 17:13
bram is Sega CD sram

Options -> Directories -> Bram backup -> select a folder+

Haven't found this problem with Kega (http://www.eidolons-inn.net/tiki-index.php?page=Kega) though. I prefer this one, as good or even better Genesis/Sega CD/32X/Master System/Game Gear emulator :p

goosethemighty
November 15th, 2005, 18:19
Hey thanks man. I had no idea about bram. So what do I do in the directory. Should I make a folder called bram or what? I mean I am not sure how to configure or what files to configure them too. should I configure the sram in the directory as well??

hagbard
November 15th, 2005, 18:26
No problem. Only choose a valid folder in the emulator on the menu I told you before, rename it "bram" for example, the same for the other folders: "sram" to sram data, etc.

goosethemighty
November 15th, 2005, 19:12
Thanks Hagbard! It works, I can save and now relive the great old days of classic sega cd! You the man.

Quick question though. Gens says that I have to reformat the ram for each game before I can save. If I do this will I lose the saves from different games?? Or can I skip the formatting all together?

hagbard
November 15th, 2005, 20:47
No, it creates one bram file per game, nevermind. Glad to see it's working btw