Help about MDA

M.H.A.Q.S.

I have a subject of Data Security and Encryptography in this semester and after some days I have to give a presentation on a topic entitled "MDA : Message Digest Algorithms".

I have studied the topic but still the MD5 algorithm is difficult to understand. I know how the SHA-1 algorithm works because I studied that while looking into the MAME sources.

Does anybody know of the MD5 algo.

M.H.A.Q.S.

Thanks Waz..but I have both of those. If you follow the 2nd link, it has the complete MD5 algo.

The steps in the text file, on how does the algo work are confusing.

If you understand the algo, can you explain it a bit.

J

Jet Set Willy

I'm not working through all of that when I don't need to know it myself.

J

Jet Set Willy

Well, how far can you get before you get stuck? Maybe I can help you out with bits of it.

M.H.A.Q.S.

hmmm...If you have the 1321.txt document.

When you reach step 4 of section 3.4 where it says

This step uses a 64-element table T[1 ... 64] constructed from the
sine function. Let T denote the i-th element of the table, which
is equal to the integer part of 4294967296 times abs(sin(i)), where i
is in radians. The elements of the table are given in the appendix.

I understand the table stuff and how it builds up. The problem is when you proceed further into the step.

J

Jet Set Willy

An element i is equal to 4294967296*abs( sin(i) ).

abs is the "absolute" function. It just means that if the result of sin is negative, it will turn it positive. It's the same as the mathematical operator "modulos", i.e. |-4| = 4

So, the table would look like this:

int table[64];

[0]=4294967296*abs( sin(1) )=3614090360
[1]=4294967296*abs( sin(2) )=3905402710
[2]=4294967296*abs( sin(3) )=606105819
[3]=4294967296*abs( sin(4) )=3250441966
[63]=4294967296*abs( sin(64) )=3250441966

You can confirm that this is the correct approach by Googling for some of the values I've generated. The results bring up MD5 documentation. :)