Can you run (Selfboot) CDI games on DC emulators?

Aynatix

Can you run (Selfboot) CDI games on DC emulators?
Do I "have to" burn anything to a cd? Because I just want to play on my computer with the emulator? No cd burning bs. What is a (Selfboot) CDI?
Im new at all this.. Help me?

jv9

Yes you can run Selfbootable CDI games on DC emulator (Chankast).
CDI is a discjuggler file and the (Selfboot) means that it boots by itself.
It dosen't need a program to make it selfbootable.

Aynatix

jv9 said:
Yes you can run Selfbootable CDI games on DC emulator (Chankast).
CDI is a discjuggler file and the (Selfboot) means that it boots by itself.
It dosen't need a program to make it selfbootable.
Do I have to burn anything? or Is it just like arcade roms where you just launch the emu and load the game and play?

305soldier

hsdhaasd!
just use daemon tools to make a virtual drive(fake drive) then mount the image on DT and choose the DT drive letter in chanka and start it up. then it should work.

DethGate

Ok, I just DL'ed a Dead or Alive 2 CDI and I mounted it on Daemon tools. It lock up every time I try to load it in Chankast.

hagbard

Perphaps it's not selfboot, not every CDI file is: CDI only means it's a DiscJuggler format. Also the game might not be correctly emulated or it has a Echelon intro.

To run non selfboot games, you need the Dreamcast BootCD aka Utopia Boot Disc: Run it first on Chankast with the Daemon Tools virtual drive, when it loads change the emulated image for your game. Make a google or forum search to find it, and use the 1.1 version if possible

About the Echelon intro, check this thread

Makinit

hi, i'm new here. here is my problems: after the xxx.cdi is charged, i open the chankast, and i push on start. then it asks me to set date (twice). so it opens the main menu. i click on play game and all this restart from the biginning. what is the problem? what should i do???

hagbard