Hi from a chick in Canada

WishboneDawn

Hello all. I'm a homeschooling (of a radical lefty no lessons variety) mom of two in Canada. I'm very new to emulators, haven't downloaded one yet. But my interest was sparked when checking out abadonware sites, when pricing parts to build a new gaming computer (which quickly made me wonder what we could do instead with our PIII) and by fond, loving memories of playing Colecovision (would love a good Coleco emulator).

I know nothing yet but I find lurking or asking questions is often the best way to learn something new. Looking forward to posting further. :)

hagbard

I hope you enjoy staying here, welcome to the forum :)

Btw, you can find Colecovision emulators here, such a Virtual ColecoVision or BlueMSX. Sorry but I can't point you any roms 'cause the forum rules, maybe google can help you ;)

Fable

Urban Ninja
An emulator is a program required to play roms. A rom is a game that you play with an emulator. For instance, in order to play... say.. Metroid Fusion, you need the rom, and the Virtual Boy Emulator.

Welcome to the forums. ;)

Genome

north west south west
WishboneDawn said:
Hello all. I'm a homeschooling (of a radical lefty no lessons variety) mom of two in Canada. I'm very new to emulators, haven't downloaded one yet. But my interest was sparked when checking out abadonware sites, when pricing parts to build a new gaming computer (which quickly made me wonder what we could do instead with our PIII) and by fond, loving memories of playing Colecovision (would love a good Coleco emulator).

I know nothing yet but I find lurking or asking questions is often the best way to learn something new. Looking forward to posting further. :)

lol you sound like the coolest mom ever!! i think its easy if you think of it like this, the emulator is a virtual version of your system and roms are your virtual games. (ie your nes rom and nes emulator are your game and your nes respectivly)