PDA

View Full Version : Hi from a chick in Canada

WishboneDawn
April 26th, 2005, 23:30
Hello all. I'm a homeschooling (of a radical lefty no lessons variety) mom of two in Canada. I'm very new to emulators, haven't downloaded one yet. But my interest was sparked when checking out abadonware sites, when pricing parts to build a new gaming computer (which quickly made me wonder what we could do instead with our PIII) and by fond, loving memories of playing Colecovision (would love a good Coleco emulator).

I know nothing yet but I find lurking or asking questions is often the best way to learn something new. Looking forward to posting further. :)

hagbard
April 27th, 2005, 00:21
I hope you enjoy staying here, welcome to the forum :)

Btw, you can find Colecovision emulators here (http://www.zophar.net/coleco.html), such a Virtual ColecoVision or BlueMSX. Sorry but I can't point you any roms 'cause the forum rules (http://forums.emulator-zone.com/rules.php?), maybe google (www.google.com) can help you ;)

WishboneDawn
April 27th, 2005, 00:52
Here's where I show just how much I have to learn...What exactly is a ROM and how is it different from an emulator?

Fable
April 27th, 2005, 02:10
An emulator is a program required to play roms. A rom is a game that you play with an emulator. For instance, in order to play... say.. Metroid Fusion, you need the rom, and the Virtual Boy Emulator.

Welcome to the forums. ;)

PhatPlaya
April 27th, 2005, 03:34
Welcome. Here is where your journey begins ... :D

Jale
April 27th, 2005, 04:36
Welcome! :)

montpics
April 27th, 2005, 14:33
Same here. Welcome. :cool:

Genome
April 27th, 2005, 14:36