woud like to start NES emulator project in C# language, possible?

triple7

Hello and greetings to all,

This is my first post on this forum so I will try my best to describe my post. I am currently a student programmer and I'm learning C# as the language. I would like to start an emulator project of a nintendo emulator. I know, that most emulators are mostly written in C++ or some other language, however, I am asking whether an emulator can be pulled off C#? And if so, what kind of difficulty would I expect?

-Karim

Mupen64 Man

Big fan of Mupen64
Staff member
Its very possible, but you can expect it to be very difficult. It takes years to make a good emulator, but if you know what you are doing and know enough about the system you are trying to emulate, then its pretty much smooth sailing. :)

ulaoulao

Controller Man
Staff member
I have worked with c++++ ( c#) before and I'm no fan at all. But I am a c++ guy so I'm sure that why, plus I hate m$. Though I have to admit I'm stuck using windows. Linux is just not as popular yet.

ok on topic... Yes c# will do just fine. I think you will loose some of the ASM short cuts ( not sure ) and c++++ is further from machine assembly( I think ) but I'm sure you can do it. There are a few emulators using J so why not. However that being said, have you studied ASM much? As you know ( I hope ) ROMS are compiled machine line instructions. Your job as a emulator author is to interpret this lines and wrap then to DX or OPGL calls. So the closer to machine code you are, the better. Many people have used HI-level emulation to cheat and done quite well. (i.e ULTRA-HLE ). In this case they read the rom and wrap to the gfx. Seems to be the going trend and I dont see why c++++ wot work there. The down fall here is speed. n64, no problem, but anything newer and you will see the speed hit.

Last edited:

triple7