Game Problem: MAME AND FLYING SHARK

Hi all

I'm using MAME32 0.103U2 and trying to run my first game of Flying Shark world version but I open directories to the unzipped Roms and it just doesn't recognise them and run the game.Any ideas as I'm new to all this.It doesn't seem to recognise the roms from a few other games I've tried as well.

FTJM

FatTrucker

Abusus non tollit usum
You need to leave the roms zipped. Put the rom zips in your rom folder, in the main Mame32 folder.

Boot Mame32 and in the Mame32 toolbar select 'file' then 'Audit All'. Mame will check your rom zips and hopefully you'll now be able to double click the one's you've got roms for from the gamelist and play them.

Last edited:
Thx,I can only seem to get the game running by pasting the flying shark zip file directly on the mame32 emu icon.The game then loads and runs,although despite calibrating my joystick on both windows and flying shark and the emulator I can't always use that either.Sometimes the joystick works,sometimes not.I have tried going to the directories tab and uploading the fs zip file to the emulator but although it recognises it the emu still says rom codes are not there! Also,I tried running another game in the same way,but it didn't recognise it at all. Despite following what seems like straightforward procedures from the mame guide I don't seem to have much luck with this emu rom business!! Any other suggestions anyone?

FTJM

FatTrucker

Abusus non tollit usum
Mame roms change periodically as things are updated and improved. Different versions of Mame will use different versions of roms. Usually its best to use the latest build of mame with recent dumps of the roms.

In the Mame32 default game options menu in the toolbar, make sure the use joystick box is ticked.

Epsi

Zoo Keeper
Flying Shark (World)

seems the roms have changed alot since 0.103

# 0.129u4: Brian Troha and Stefan Lindberg corrected and added missing proms for Flying Shark and clones. Fixed rom names.