Why do most video game movies suck?

supernifty

In my opinion, it's the franchises that are chosen. Just because a franchise is popular on a counsel DOESN'T mean it'll be a good movie. Doom...REALLY, Street Fighter...REALLY, and now Prince of Persia? Even Mortal Kombat is spreading it pretty thin(hold ur flames on that one). Not to mention the absolute embarassment that was Mario. Why not Metal Gear Solid? Why not Zelda? Even Castlevania(vampires always sell) would make a better flick. Either the producers live in an alternate universe where shits worth its weight in gold, or they habitually smoke the crack. I dunno... what do yall think?

JoshM22

I have to agree the Doom movie was very mediocre. All the Doom games kick ass! Street Fighter games are pretty good. I am just getting into them as an adult.Here is a list of some crappy movie games.

Back to the Future (NES)
Back to the future II
Dick Tracy (NES)
Terminator (NES)
Terminator 2 (NES)
Predator 2 (NES)

I don't think I need to list anymore.Not saying the NES is a crappy system, cause it is a classic every gamer should own. This is just my opinion guys. The good movie games I have played are all Lord of the Rings games on PS2. The Bourne game for PS3 was really good. A little frustrating at first, but very well made game.

Speaking of movie games. I think Resistance 1 & 2 could be made into a great movie. Has a pretty good story line.

Last edited:

Zach

The inherent flaw is not the franchises that are chosen, its the people who are making them, and in some cases trying to squeeze the content of a single or series of games, into one movie that is usually 2 hours or less..