MAME for dummies

JoshM22

Yes i am a noob when it comes to MAME. I found a mame emulator not long ago that was all set up all "No source code or compiling to do" All i needed to do was find the bios. For some reason i deleted it. I am having a hard time finding one could someone just give me a name of a MAME program for dummies lol. No location just a name i will look 4 it myself. Thanks

FatTrucker

Abusus non tollit usum
Mame doesn't have a bios. There are loads of Bios roms for various different arcade systems that mame will need to run those games (like SNK/NeoGeo for example) but mame itself doesn't have any core files that it needs to run and many older games don't need a bios to work with it either.

You would be best to google MameUI and download that as it comes with a windows interface.

JoshM22

Thanks. Disregard my comment on my other thread. I will try this out and hopefully there is no source code to compile cause i don't know how to do that sh**

JohnLaury

Getting MAME figured out can be difficult. The problem is that there's two major MAME developement packages, the DOS based emulator, and the 32 bit Windows based one. The easiest one to use is by far the Windows based one especially if you're not well versed in DOS command line based control. Therefore, download MAME32 here...

http://mame32.classicgaming.gamespy.com/download.htm

After you download (and install) mame32, you'll notice a bunch of folders in the mame32 folder. The one you need to concern yourself with is the ROMS folder...