PSP question

triggerx

Sorry if this is a noobie question, but Im new to the whole psp thing.

So I just got a new psp, the slim and it has the 3.71 firmware on it.

I was wondering if their was anyway for me to play psp isos without tampering with the firmware.

I mean isnt there a way so that the psp would read it as if it were a umd?
so what would be the point in messing with the firmware.

I have a Naruto Ultimate Ninja Heroes Rom that I wanted to try out before I actually go buy the umd. Cause its good to have a hard copy, but I dont want to buy a tv related game cause in most cases they suck.

So Id rather try it out for a few days, then take it off my mem stick and buy the real version.

Any help on this subject?

Slim PSP, Running the official 3.71 firmware.

The game file itself is in .cso, which im assuming is some compressed psp iso format

Last edited:
No.

Get a regular PSP(Not slim), and make sure it's at least firmware version 2.0(1.0 or 1.5 is good too). Then upgrade to custom firmware(Depending on what version you want, you may have to downgrade to 1.0), and you'll be able to run PSP ISOS on it.

GHDpro

Administrator
Staff member
From news updates on psp.qj.net I'd figure PSP Slim can actually also run custom firmware, but you probably need one with an older version firmware than 3.71, as Sony improves it's attempts at stopping people from installing custom firmware with each new version.

Also, I'm pretty sure installing custom firmware is not a risk-free & completely undoable process.

You're best bet, as MilesHedgehog already mentioned, is to get another PSP (a used one), and preferbly one with as old firmware as you can get. This way you can keep your new PSP "clean" and experiment all you want with the other.

montpics

I saw PSP emulator at the download section
any one knows the requirement for this emulator?
Please take note that PSP emulator still unable to play any commercial games yet. It's still in early development stages. :)