PDA

View Full Version : VBA 1.7.2 Too slow!



Leerz
July 24th, 2004, 10:28
any 1 can help me?

I recently downloaded the latest release of VBA 1.7.2

why is it slower than the older versions?

_I mean.. Ive used the 1.6 sumthing
-it played verywell @ 0 frameskipping!

-anysuggestions?

onewecallgod
July 24th, 2004, 10:51
i dont know much about GBA emulation, so the only advice i can give you is: why not just keep using 1.6? if it aint broke, dont fix it. if theres nothing wrong, why update?

Techman
July 25th, 2004, 01:49
I have noticed it too that Visualboyadvance 1.7.2 is worse than its predecessors(or whatevers) Try using VBA 1.7.1 it works fine ^^

Leerz
July 25th, 2004, 04:16
comment for "onewecallgod"

--every gamer knows that every release or every update to a game.. the games gets better..

so does to an emulator.. as expected.. speed fixes.. yah knw..

but in Vba's case.. its the other way around..

onewecallgod
July 25th, 2004, 04:19
Originally posted by Leerz@Jul 24 2004, 10:16 PM
comment for "onewecallgod"

--every gamer knows that every release or every update to a game.. the games gets better..

so does to an emulator.. as expected.. speed fixes.. yah knw..

but in Vba's case.. its the other way around..
a better thing to do might be to ask someone who tried the update/patch to see if it did anything for them(this person should have similar specs to you) (which is what i do). that way, you dont waste time

Leerz
July 25th, 2004, 04:25
do you think dat the VBA admin would still have a better release?
--too bad.. id say its the best GBA emulator around.

Lefteris_D
July 25th, 2004, 06:52
Do you mind telling us what kind of hardware you have?

Leerz
July 25th, 2004, 11:14
@ lefteris D.. are you pertaining to my PC specs?

- if so..

~Im using a p2 400 mhz (overclocked to 530 mhz) hahah!
-3dfx Voodoo3 (overclocked 30%)
-192MB RAM
-1 pc 17.6GB HD - 20.0 GB hd

(out of the ordinary huh??)

I can run run Nemu.. almost flawlessly..
and VBA 1.6 and below w/ 0 frameskipping.. almost perfect!
-epsxe.. Ok Played and finished THPS series in it.. hahah.. used a PSX joypad on my PC

dats about it..

Lefteris_D
July 25th, 2004, 13:04
Yep, that explains the problem as I have a pc similar to yours.

Techman
July 26th, 2004, 03:23
Actually VBA1.7.0 is the best choice. 1.7.2's music flickers and 1.7.1 doesn't have Skip Intros (GBA) command :/ So all you use 1.7 :P

Leerz
July 26th, 2004, 16:41
@ techman.. I wish I could still get "VBA 1.7" only problem is
the link on the VBA hope page downt work anymore.. know any mirror sites?

Techman
July 27th, 2004, 16:17
Originally posted by Leerz@Jul 26 2004, 05:41 PM
@ techman.. I wish I could still get* "VBA 1.7"* only problem is
the link on the VBA hope page downt work anymore.. know any mirror sites?
http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/vba/Vis...?use_mirror=umn (http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/vba/VisualBoyAdvance-1.7.zip?use_mirror=umn)

That worked for me...

Leerz
July 29th, 2004, 02:33
@Techman.. hey there.. thanx for helping out!! VBA 1.7 works like a wonder..
- I couldnt say more..
-have you heard anything about VBA-CE (collectors edition?)
-I forgot w/ site I downloaded it and Read about it?..
-it says: Its an optimized version of VBA 1.7.2..
-he said.. he made the optimization because the 1.7.2 is buggy! ! snail pace..
-it is also indicated there.. that it is to give credit of the Author/the one who made
VBA - I "FORGOTTEN" was the name..

--- Thanx to everyone who HELPED!!! :P

Techman
July 29th, 2004, 10:01
Originally posted by Leerz@Jul 29 2004, 03:33 AM
@Techman.. hey there.. thanx for helping out!! VBA 1.7 works like a wonder..
- I couldnt say more..
-have you heard anything about VBA-CE (collectors edition?)
-I forgot w/ site I downloaded it and Read about it?..
-it says: Its an optimized version of VBA 1.7.2..
-he said.. he made the optimization because the 1.7.2 is buggy! ! snail pace..
-it is also indicated there.. that it is to give credit of the Author/the one who made
VBA - I "FORGOTTEN" was the name..

--- Thanx to everyone who HELPED!!! :P
I haven't heard of it and no problem ^^