Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: HELP WITH NES USB CONTROLLER

  1. #1

    Default HELP WITH NES USB CONTROLLER

    i hope someone can help me out.

    i think i'm really retarded but i have no idea how to make my controller work. I downloaded nestopia and was playing with my keyboard and got tired of using the keyboard so i went searching for a joystick. Luckily i found my old NES controller in my closet and through Retrozone, ordered a usb adapter for it. So now that i've got it, i plugged the controller into the adapter, and then plugged the adapter into the usb port. But NOTHING. i went to preferences and clicked "joystick" but i look at the everything and click on stuff but nothing works. [SIDENOTE: When you plug something into a USB port shouldnt a window pop up saying something like "new hardware found?" I know thats what it used to do on my PC but now i have a Mac that i'm still getting used to so i dont know how the usb ports may work] And yes i bought the emulator enhancer from that Richard Bannister site..

    I run the Nestopia emulator on my mac book, which has OS X.
    If anyone can help me out, it would be GREATLY appreciated...

    -Clueless,
    Coachella1

  2. #2
    Say wha??? Jale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Maracay, Venezuela
    Age
    27
    Posts
    6,441

    Default Re: HELP WITH NES USB CONTROLLER

    Make sure your USB adapter and drivers are properly installed.

  3. #3
    Rumor Starter... ~!!WhoCares!!~'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    ~!!WhoCares!!~
    Age
    20
    Posts
    139

    Default Re: HELP WITH NES USB CONTROLLER

    yep
    I window should of poped up saying new hardware installed or found. also make sure that there is not something wrong with the adapter or your old remote

  4. #4
    Capo di Tutti Capi alcoatjez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,602

    Default Re: HELP WITH NES USB CONTROLLER

    If it has a disc, use the disc BEFORE you plug the adapter in your PC. Sometimes Windows starts nagging when you do it the other way around.

  5. #5
    Controller Man ulaoulao's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    2,857
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: HELP WITH NES USB CONTROLLER

    That post was in 06... really you dug that up? And uh yeah we know about usb adapters, that is nothing new.
    Original, the only way to play.

    Forums
    main page - Working controllers

  6. #6
    Abusus non tollit usum FatTrucker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    London Uk
    Age
    39
    Posts
    1,635

    Default Re: HELP WITH NES USB CONTROLLER

    Its Spam.

  7. #7
    Controller Man ulaoulao's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    2,857
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: HELP WITH NES USB CONTROLLER

    Quote Originally Posted by FatTrucker View Post
    Its Spam.
    No way... That is scarry...
    Original, the only way to play.

    Forums
    main page - Working controllers

  8. #8

    Default Re: HELP WITH NES USB CONTROLLER

    I did the exact same thing you did and i use the same emulator (love it). SET UP: you have to go under options (in the top bar), then to input, and select a controller that has the buttons of the nes controller (left, up, right, down, select, start, a, b) i believe its called PACHINKO. then, you have to go to the 3rd column (mapping column) and click the first setting in line with [left]. then, down to the "set" option. once you click it, in the box it will say something like select joystick button and then a countdown. In layman's terms, it means that when you click on "set" you have 5 seconds to press the button on the nes usb controller. SO, when you have selected the mapping column that goes along with the "left" in the "key" section and clicked "set" at the bottom, press the left on the nes controller and it will set to (joy-0) -x. after this is done, it will move to the one below and continue to do this with all of the keys. Once this is ALL complete, press ok and go to machine in the top bar and go to input.then go to expansion port and click pachinko. You are now good to go.

    p.s. 2 player does not work with these settings, i do not know why. if you need any more help just email me

    Hope this Helped

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •