Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Directx for pcsx2

  1. #1

    Default Directx for pcsx2

    So when i go to run my iso to play a game, it said i needed to update to the newest version of directx and gave me a link to go there and everything. so i did that and updated, restarted my computer then went to run pcsx2 again and ran my iso, it gave me the same message again. so i tried again and downloaded it and installed the new directx again, but it of course said it was already installed. why does that keep happening?

  2. #2
    Abusus non tollit usum FatTrucker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    London Uk
    Age
    39
    Posts
    1,635

    Default Re: Directx for pcsx2

    What video card are you using.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Directx for pcsx2

    idk its just the one that came with my laptop, i've been able to play newer high end games like sins of a solar empire. but would that really have anything to do with the video card?

  4. #4
    The Unknown THANAMELESS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    282

    Default Re: Directx for pcsx2

    Quote Originally Posted by jtcooky View Post
    idk its just the one that came with my laptop, i've been able to play newer high end games like sins of a solar empire. but would that really have anything to do with the video card?
    yeah it could be. some video cards dont work with specific directx versions (at least at my own experience.) and it may be also you specs are to low, so it would be nice if you told us....

  5. #5

    Default Re: Directx for pcsx2

    it just says that its mobile intel 965 express chipset family

  6. #6
    Abusus non tollit usum FatTrucker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    London Uk
    Age
    39
    Posts
    1,635

    Default Re: Directx for pcsx2

    Thats probably going to be your problem then. Intel integrated graphics chips are not particularly good and it will also be sharing whatever memory is allocated to it with the system memory. Seems likely your laptop doesn't meet the required specs for PCSX2.

    If you are running the latest version of DirectX and a program is consistently telling you to re-install directX it would point to the program needing a directX component that either isn't present or is not supported by your videocard. You could try installing the latest drivers for your graphics chip to see if that solves it.

    What specifically does PCSX2 report when it gives you the error?.
    Last edited by FatTrucker; January 10th, 2009 at 21:44.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Directx for pcsx2

    it says "Please update DirectX!" then it asks if i wanna open the download page in my browser. the heading or title of the window or whatever is GSdx-ssse3

  8. #8
    Abusus non tollit usum FatTrucker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    London Uk
    Age
    39
    Posts
    1,635

    Default Re: Directx for pcsx2

    Try going over to the microsoft site and downloading the latest Direct-X version directly from there. Download the .exe version and install it over the old version.

    If that still doesn't work then it seems likely that your hardware doesn't support whatever it is the program needs. AFAIK SSE3 is used by Core2Duo's so it may be there's a directx component or .dll required to utilise thats missing from your system.
    Last edited by FatTrucker; January 10th, 2009 at 21:56.

  9. #9
    The New Kid occultist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Lebanon
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Directx for pcsx2

    i already installed the directx and update it , but i still cant find it in my pcsx2 configuration , can u tell me how to put them ?

  10. #10
    Abusus non tollit usum FatTrucker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    London Uk
    Age
    39
    Posts
    1,635

    Default Re: Directx for pcsx2

    Quote Originally Posted by occultist View Post
    i already installed the directx and update it , but i still cant find it in my pcsx2 configuration , can u tell me how to put them ?
    As always your PC specs should be included in any support requests (particularly which graphics card for DX requests). Not sure what you're talking about trying to find Direct-X in your PCSX2 configuration? or what you're asking for advice about what to put where?.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •