PDA

View Full Version : VBA Saved Game -> VBA Link?



Delirious
September 3rd, 2006, 23:09
I downloaded the original VBA (along with a ROM) and started playing quite far into the game. My friend only just told me about VBA Link and I don't really feel like starting from the beginning with my ROM. I've already tried loading the save using VBA Link but the screen just goes purple and freezes. Is there some other way I can transfer my saved game from VBA to VBA Link?

DudeJustDoIT
September 3rd, 2006, 23:24
Try changing the type to .sa1. What game are you trying to run?

Delirious
September 3rd, 2006, 23:30
It will only let me save as .sgm if that's what you meant. I'm trying to run Pokemon Emerald.

DudeJustDoIT
September 3rd, 2006, 23:44
Ok say for example your save file looks like this

Pokemon_Emerald.sgm <that is your save file.

Right click on it and select rename and change it to...

Pokemon_Emerald.sg1

your using save states and not save games.

Delirious
September 3rd, 2006, 23:54
Alright, I tried that but it still doesn't work. Here's what happens as soon as I load the save. I'll just post the link because the picture itself is quite big! ;)

http://img135.imageshack.us/img135/6149/emeraldab0.png

DudeJustDoIT
September 3rd, 2006, 23:56
I dont know what to tell ya the VBA Link is totally garbage... The only time i use it is to trade pokemon then i continue playing on the VBA. Sorry.


EDITED:: I will test it and play around with it in a little while to see if i can get it working and ill let you know. You may also try using an older version of the VBA Link. Alot of users have found that to work.

DudeJustDoIT
September 4th, 2006, 00:28
Ok in the VBA Link did you change the save type to EEPROM and Flash 128k?? if not you need to click....

Options>>Emulator>>Save Type

And select EEPROM and then select Flash 128k below that.

Delirious
September 4th, 2006, 00:47
I really appreciate your help but for some reason it still refuses to load. I even tried saving the file again using those setting but nothing changed. Could it be something to do with the 'this save file is corrupt...' message at the beginning of the game?

Edit: I have it working now. Let me know if you're interested in finding out how I did it!

Cold 09
September 11th, 2006, 21:16
Hey, I have the same problem.
When I try to open a save (Pokemon Ruby :P) in VBA link from original VBA it wont even show the continue option...
So yes, please I am VERY MUCH interested in aquiring the knowledge of how you did it.
Begging, PLEASE, reply as soon as possible!!!
thnx, in advance...

Myr
September 17th, 2006, 07:59
I am having an identical issue, except with FireRed. I'm using save states and as far as I can tell have set everything up correctly but still get the problem. I've sent a PM to the OP but I was wondering if anyone else also knows a solution?

I would use an ingame save but I haven't been able to find an IPS patch that works.

Delirious
September 21st, 2006, 18:45
I can't really take credit for this as it was my friend that told me. I simply exported the battery and then imported it in VBA Link. Hope that helps! ;)

Cold 09
September 28th, 2006, 22:55
Hot-Damn, it works!!! Just writing to say thnx, and...yeah...:D
That's about it...
Thanks again!!!

tman
May 8th, 2007, 23:16
how do you export and import the battery?
(I have firered *<:^)

Cold 09
May 9th, 2007, 08:49
Just play around with your VBA (actually with options and such), you'll figure it out, np...
I'd like to give you the specifics, but it's been a long time since I used it and I don't have it anymore, so I can't remember anything...sry.

As I recal, it's not a complex prossidure (importing/exporting), so don't worry.
Again, just try to find it...it's not going to be a prob...

tman
May 9th, 2007, 21:57
is it something like

File
export


bcuz when i save the battery, it does not show up on theVBALink

Damn_U_Idiot
May 25th, 2007, 15:10
I think i can help u. Just go 2 file and then export the battery load the save game and import the battery it would work.

Damn_U_Idiot
May 25th, 2007, 15:12
Hey can anyone send me ur pokemon emerald save game file of VBA 1.8.03 beta my email is angel.garg@gmail.com please it wud really help me

I will send u something in return

Hodgetts
February 17th, 2010, 19:36
PLEASE MAN HELP! I have the exact same issue... Started a game on normal vba for pokemon emerald... then got vba link and want to play with my buddies... they all have save games on normal vba as well and we can get as far as the emulator freezing with a purple tint to the screen

Please help

ant1
March 11th, 2010, 05:30
I tried importing and exporting, but the game still doesn't work. I know I'm new to this thread, but can someone please help?

sahk
March 13th, 2010, 23:52
Yet another person with a problem >_>

Have Pokemon FireRed on original VBA without Link, and I can't transfer the saves over to one with VBA link on it. I tried switching the file from .sgm to .sg1 and it recognized the save, but it couldn't load. And anything else I try (export/import , etc.) doesn't work, the VBA with Link can't find the file. So is there any other way to change the save file or make my original VBA work with Link?

komuroto
April 3rd, 2010, 16:11
From what I know about VBA and the VBA link the only thing you can do is start your game over, but play on the VBA that game with the link zip you downloaded (i mean already owned ofcourse ;]) But anyways, if you play from there you will have no problems. The VBA, and the VBAlink are just not compatible (I assume its because one is an older version.)

Cheejyg
November 26th, 2010, 13:18
LOL, you guys are lucky I chanced upon this thread when I was having the same problem.

I'll show you how to do it in the next reply......


EDIT: HOPE IT'S STILL USEFUL AFTER 7 MONTHS!! ROFLOLMAO!!!! =D

Cheejyg
November 26th, 2010, 14:00
First, what you want to do is start up VirtualBoyAdvanced.exe (VBA)
Secondly, open [File -> Open] OR [Ctrl + O] the game (.gba/.gbc/.zip) you want to export to VirtualBoyAdvancedLink (VBALink)
Third, load [File -> Load...] OR [Ctrl + L] OR [File -> Load Game -> *] OR [F1] your savedata/savegame/savefile/data for the game.
Then, what you want to do is SAVE it again but wait, if you're using the [Shift + F*] OR [File -> Save...] OR [File -> Save Game -> *] initially to save/load your game (which is the .sgm file), DON'T.

This time what you want is to save within the game itself (e.g. Pok?mon [*Start* - > *Save*])

After you've saved your game, what you want to do is export [File -> Export -> Battery File...] the battery file (which would be a .sav file)


Then, you can go ahead and run VBALink
Subsequently, Open [File -> Open] OR [Ctrl + O] the game.
When you've opened the game, you want to import [File -> Import -> Battery File...] the previously saved battery file (.sav)

A message will appear and it reads "Importing a snapshot file will erase any saved games and reset the emulator. Do you want to continue?"
Just click "Ok" (BTW, I'm not entirely sure that it would "erase" your savegames or not.... mine doesn't but still it's a good idea to backup your savegames (.sgm))

After you've clicked "Ok", the game will reset and you can load (NOT THE SAVEGAME .sgm file) the game in the new emulator by using the "continue" option in the game itself.




NOTE: If you cannot save a game in the game itself then probably you can't export it to the new VBALink

Phoenix58
March 26th, 2011, 15:47
good Cheejyg..i just have an account to say thank you...god bless you...Thanks from Turkey ;)

TONYbuckets
April 4th, 2011, 22:20
How come I can't save within the game? (Pokemon Fire Red).

I just started a game of Fire Red on the original VBA (no link), I don't mind starting a new game using VBA-Link, so I did. Problem is, I can't save within the game itself, and it sounds like you need to be able to do that in order to use the link feature. Everytime I load Pokemon Fire Red, it acts as if its never loaded before, it automatically starts a new game. It also says at the start "M-1 circuit board is diabled", when I try to save within the game, it says "save error: please exchange the backup memory"

To quote Jerry Seinfeld, 'what's the deal!?!"

Cheejyg
May 6th, 2011, 05:44
good Cheejyg..i just have an account to say thank you...god bless you...Thanks from Turkey ;)

Haha, you're welcome! (from Singapore) xD


How come I can't save within the game? (Pokemon Fire Red).

I just started a game of Fire Red on the original VBA (no link), I don't mind starting a new game using VBA-Link, so I did. Problem is, I can't save within the game itself, and it sounds like you need to be able to do that in order to use the link feature. Everytime I load Pokemon Fire Red, it acts as if its never loaded before, it automatically starts a new game. It also says at the start "M-1 circuit board is diabled", when I try to save within the game, it says "save error: please exchange the backup memory"

To quote Jerry Seinfeld, 'what's the deal!?!"

I think you have a "bugged" ROM..

shimmi
July 16th, 2011, 12:02
Cheejyg thanks for the effort of trying to help us!!! ♥ But...

I STILL CAN'T DO IT!!! $0

I did everything everyone told us to do. I even downloaded 4 different ROMs because you said that if you couldn't save the game into the game file it's probably because your ROM is bugged.

PLEASE HELP ME!!!

Cordetta
September 12th, 2011, 06:08
thanks Cheejyg, I understand all the importing and exporting stuff, but when I go onto VBA link, a notice comes up in the game that " the save file is corrupted. The previous save file will be loaded." Can anyone help out with this issue? It's rather frustrating.

Animeman1000
October 10th, 2011, 03:11
Okay I figured it out. But this is a little different.

Open game in VBA and load your save file.
File ----> Open Rom
File ----> Load Game or F1
Then go to Options ---> Emulator-----> Save Type-----> Make sure it's on Flash 128k
Then save it like on a regular GBA in the game. Start----> Save-----> Yes. Done
Go to File------> Export----> Battery. Now just save it. Now go to where it's saved. It should be the one with .SAV in capital letters. Now you want to rename it. For example------> My Pokemon saved battery is called NaranjaEnglishB2.SAV (A hack called Pokemon Orange, but the name is in Spanish). So you would rename it like this NaranjaEnglishB2.sa1. Doesn't matter if it's capitalized or not.
Now open VBA Link-----> File-----> Open-----> NaranjaEnglishB2.rom
Then go to File---------> Import--------> Battery-----> NaranjaEnglishB2.sa1
Importing a Snapshot file will erase any saved games and reset the emulator. Do you want to continue?------------> Yes
Then wait for it to get to the Continue/Start New Game/Options Screen. And there should be a continue. Click Continue and now you can save.
Shift F1.

If you followed it like that you should have no problem. If you have any questions message me or reply. Peace from the East. :)
Also if this doesn't work for you then it might be because it's the latest from the vba link website. The one with with both wifi/lan, cause that's how I had to do it for it to work.
Now if only I can get the stupid linking system to work. I can never trade. It keeps going to errors. Screw it I'll just go back to regular VBA.

Animeman1000
October 12th, 2011, 04:56
Okay I figured it out. But this is a little different.

Open game in VBA and load your save file.
File ----> Open Rom, etc......
I figured out the trading. It's finally working for me.

Braxium
January 11th, 2012, 20:21
Still a problem- I could export and import the game, but when I had to open the second window to make the fake connection, the second window with the export crashed while saving, showing the bag thing with the watch under it, which means the save file is corrupted during the game. Some help please?

eggmancorp
March 1st, 2012, 19:25
First, what you want to do is start up VirtualBoyAdvanced.exe (VBA)
Secondly, open [File -> Open] OR [Ctrl + O] the game (.gba/.gbc/.zip) you want to export to VirtualBoyAdvancedLink (VBALink)
Third, load [File -> Load...] OR [Ctrl + L] OR [File -> Load Game -> *] OR [F1] your savedata/savegame/savefile/data for the game.
Then, what you want to do is SAVE it again but wait, if you're using the [Shift + F*] OR [File -> Save...] OR [File -> Save Game -> *] initially to save/load your game (which is the .sgm file), DON'T.

This time what you want is to save within the game itself (e.g. Pok?mon [*Start* - > *Save*])

After you've saved your game, what you want to do is export [File -> Export -> Battery File...] the battery file (which would be a .sav file)


Then, you can go ahead and run VBALink
Subsequently, Open [File -> Open] OR [Ctrl + O] the game.
When you've opened the game, you want to import [File -> Import -> Battery File...] the previously saved battery file (.sav)

A message will appear and it reads "Importing a snapshot file will erase any saved games and reset the emulator. Do you want to continue?"
Just click "Ok" (BTW, I'm not entirely sure that it would "erase" your savegames or not.... mine doesn't but still it's a good idea to backup your savegames (.sgm))

After you've clicked "Ok", the game will reset and you can load (NOT THE SAVEGAME .sgm file) the game in the new emulator by using the "continue" option in the game itself.




NOTE: If you cannot save a game in the game itself then probably you can't export it to the new VBALink
I actually registered to this board just so I could let you know no it's not too late and yes you've helped me when everything else failed. Your explanation was perfect, the only reason it didn't work right away was because I had to remove the old VisualBoyAdvance.exe from it's folder and put in the VBA-link.exe in it's place (it's called VisualBoyAdvance.exe as well so it can get confusing) Anyways, THANKS A LOT LOSING 30+ hours of Pokemon raising would really SUCK :)))))) Now having a complete Pokedex can be a reality!

AyoP
April 28th, 2012, 12:51
Okay I figured it out. But this is a little different.

Open game in VBA and load your save file.
File ----> Open Rom
File ----> Load Game or F1
Then go to Options ---> Emulator-----> Save Type-----> Make sure it's on Flash 128k
Then save it like on a regular GBA in the game. Start----> Save-----> Yes. Done
Go to File------> Export----> Battery. Now just save it. Now go to where it's saved. It should be the one with .SAV in capital letters. Now you want to rename it. For example------> My Pokemon saved battery is called NaranjaEnglishB2.SAV (A hack called Pokemon Orange, but the name is in Spanish). So you would rename it like this NaranjaEnglishB2.sa1. Doesn't matter if it's capitalized or not.
Now open VBA Link-----> File-----> Open-----> NaranjaEnglishB2.rom
Then go to File---------> Import--------> Battery-----> NaranjaEnglishB2.sa1
Importing a Snapshot file will erase any saved games and reset the emulator. Do you want to continue?------------> Yes
Then wait for it to get to the Continue/Start New Game/Options Screen. And there should be a continue. Click Continue and now you can save.
Shift F1.

If you followed it like that you should have no problem. If you have any questions message me or reply. Peace from the East. :)
Also if this doesn't work for you then it might be because it's the latest from the vba link website. The one with with both wifi/lan, cause that's how I had to do it for it to work.
Now if only I can get the stupid linking system to work. I can never trade. It keeps going to errors. Screw it I'll just go back to regular VBA.

This is my history: 10 years ago (or 9? can't remember) I started playing Pokemon Sapphire. (I had Pokemon Yellow at GB pocket already). Loved it. Since then, I have been occasionally playing Pokemon at the VBA, doing long runs and always falling in love again and again, starting new games. However, when it come to Pokemon Emerald, the best game with great interaction (planting the berries, capturing and etc, all of the best) I had this problem that after the League, couldn't play anymore. Didn't cross my mind to search for it until this very last weeks, after seeing a post at 9gag about it.

Did it all over again =) and this time, it WORKED. I've been playing like a devil here, loving all this. But only now, after finishing the League, I realized I should have opened it with VBA Link.
Google sent me here, and following your instructions, Animeman, IT WORKED. I had a thousand chills, and as the guy above me, I only registered on this board to say: THANK YOU.
And it's never late.

=D Thank you a thousand times, and whoever started the board, at 2006 (lol), thank you.

ZibbeZabbe
May 15th, 2012, 23:04
Hey.. I have a visualboy advanced on my mac. and it has none of the options needed (for example. only supports .SAV and not the "quick save" function) it is basically just able to save to battery, no other way of saving. Has really few options... But it works and that is good enough for me... So i've done all the steps i could and i just get a new save... (i loaded battery. that is basically it) and it wont work. as said. it just starts the game from begining (even tho on save i have beaten Elite 4 (Fire Red))

ZibbeZabbe
May 20th, 2012, 15:41
Hey.. I have a visualboy advanced on my mac. and it has none of the options needed (for example. only supports .SAV and not the "quick save" function) it is basically just able to save to battery, no other way of saving. Has really few options... But it works and that is good enough for me... So i've done all the steps i could and i just get a new save... (i loaded battery. that is basically it) and it wont work. as said. it just starts the game from begining (even tho on save i have beaten Elite 4 (Fire Red))

I solved it... My misstake mostly. I screwed up something when moving the .sav file. just ignore my question :P