PDA

View Full Version : Can you run (Selfboot) CDI games on DC emulators?

Aynatix
August 11th, 2005, 15:17
Can you run (Selfboot) CDI games on DC emulators?
Do I "have to" burn anything to a cd? Because I just want to play on my computer with the emulator? No cd burning bs. What is a (Selfboot) CDI?
Im new at all this.. Help me?

jv9
August 11th, 2005, 18:50
Yes you can run Selfbootable CDI games on DC emulator (Chankast).
CDI is a discjuggler file and the (Selfboot) means that it boots by itself.
It dosen't need a program to make it selfbootable.

Aynatix
August 11th, 2005, 19:46
Yes you can run Selfbootable CDI games on DC emulator (Chankast).
CDI is a discjuggler file and the (Selfboot) means that it boots by itself.
It dosen't need a program to make it selfbootable.
Do I have to burn anything? or Is it just like arcade roms where you just launch the emu and load the game and play?

305soldier
August 12th, 2005, 00:20
just use daemon tools to make a virtual drive(fake drive) then mount the image on DT and choose the DT drive letter in chanka and start it up. then it should work.

DethGate
August 28th, 2005, 16:37
Ok, I just DL'ed a Dead or Alive 2 CDI and I mounted it on Daemon tools. It lock up every time I try to load it in Chankast.

hagbard
August 28th, 2005, 23:35
Perphaps it's not selfboot, not every CDI file is: CDI only means it's a DiscJuggler format. Also the game might not be correctly emulated or it has a Echelon intro.

To run non selfboot games, you need the Dreamcast BootCD aka Utopia Boot Disc: Run it first on Chankast with the Daemon Tools virtual drive, when it loads change the emulated image for your game. Make a google or forum search to find it, and use the 1.1 version if possible

About the Echelon intro, check this thread (http://forums.emulator-zone.com/showthread.php?t=3868&highlight=remove+echelon+intro)

Makinit
August 30th, 2005, 16:54